Trends and Terminologies

Being an Air Force kid, most of my schooling has been done in Kendriya Vidyalayas (central government schools in India) and most of my friends in school were all kids of defence personnel too. So we had our own terminologies which other people might find weird. For example, for us the school uniform was just ‘uniform’ and everything else used to come under ‘civil dress’! I remember how we used to be happy that we will get to wear ‘civil dress’ in extra classes or class excursions. And that trend continued uninterrupted until I stepped into college. There, when I referred to some piece of clothing as ‘civil dress’ i used to get these baffled looks and raised eyebrows in response. It was with great difficulty and weeks of practice that I finally shifted from ‘civil dress’ to ‘casuals‘ (that’s what my college mates called them). Even in college, I had to wear a uniform (may come as a shocker to some!) and we had ‘casuals’ on Wednesdays and Fridays.

Fast forward to present: I am in a different college now pursuing my PhD and there’s no college uniform here and hence no formals, no casuals, no nothing! It’s just plain old jeans and t shirts and skirts and blah blah blah. And once again I have to give up my habit of calling a particular dress ‘casuals’ or whatever. Phew! Life is difficult ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

 

One thought on “Trends and Terminologies

  1. I remember when you were concerned about your last college experience. And now, there you are, studying for a doctorate at a new college. I wish you well nd look forward to hearing about your new thoughts and adventures

    Like

What do you think?

