As The Mysticism Falls Around…

Okay so as I mentioned in my initial post, STOCHASTIC is gonna be about random things that interest me or have an impact on me in any way, so here I’m with yet another piece of my writing -and this time it’s about this great book I just finished reading ‘The Devil And Miss Prym’ by one of my favourite authors, Paulo Coelho.

1525256_10152058749021211_239129932_n

I’m sure most of you would have read his books or at least heard of him.

Paulo Coelho has a unique way of mixing mysticism with human virtues and presenting them in the form of a simple yet deep, suspense-filled fiction, that binds its readers till the end -something I haven’t found anywhere else.

My first Paulo Coelho book was ‘The Alchemist‘ and by then I wasn’t familiar with the author or his style.

the alchemist (english)-18122014

So when I first started reading it, I thought it’s one of those philosophical books that inspires you to work hard or never lose hope or keep on chasing your dreams, etc etc. So my first instinct was to chuck it then and there as I hate this kinda stuff. All I want in a book is a story -fictional or a real life incident, a comedy or a tragedy, a Sherlock Holmes or a Secret Seven (that was when I was like 10!) -but a STORY! But something told me to go on and anyway I didn’t have anything better to do that summer. So I kept on reading and that was one of the wisest decisions I’ve ever made in my life (the other being, watching Supernaturals

But enough about ‘The Alchemist’ now, let’s get back to ‘The Devil And Miss Prym‘.

 

This book talks about the constant struggle between good and evil that goes on within each and every one of us. Like all other Paulo Coelho books, this one too presents situations which all of us can relate to.

In fact, at some point of time I started feeling as if this is my story or my thoughts!

The storyline is set in the remote village of Viscos, whose inhabitants are bored of their monotonous lives, which is to end very soon as a stranger arrives in their village, accompanied by the Devil! The stranger gives them all two options to choose between their Angels and Devils, tapping into their greed and ambitions. What happens next will leave you in awe. It’s like each page you read makes you wanna read more and more. How the various villagers act in response to the stranger’s question, the way their thoughts change from those of innocent human beings incapable of inflicting any harm to their fellow beings to those of vicious masterminds plotting a crime of the highest order, is truly intriguing.

I don’t wanna be a spoiler for those of you who haven’t read the book yet (though I don’t think there’s much left to add ๐Ÿ˜› ). Thank you for reading my blog and I hope you find the time to read ‘The Devil And Miss Prym’ as well. In fact, I’d recommend every Paulo Coelho book and if there is any particular book that you like, do share in the comments below.

11 thoughts on “As The Mysticism Falls Around…

  1. Hi, I’m a first-time visitor, and your blog looks fabulous! I was wondering what the name meant, though ๐Ÿ˜›

    Your review’s excellent, it makes me want to buy the book myself- although I felt it was a little short. I also think you need to use different conversational styles, for different kinds of posts, as a blog post describing your college cannot sound the same as one describing an inspiring story, say.

    That said, its lighthearted, and extremely easy to follow. I can’t wait for more of your reviews ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

